Happy New Year!

Greetings to my scattered readers!  The blog has been pretty quiet of late and I have no one to blame but myself.  I kind of took the entire month of December off from RPGs, despite having several ideas burning away in my brain.  I will get some stuff posted soon, once I get some traction on the creative side of things.

I have been painfully and slowly working on this ongoing campaign called “Demons of a Fallen God” which I had huge ambitions for and instead it has been moving at a snail’s pace.  Plus going in the totally wrong direction from what I had planned.  If I can get this thing back on the rails, I’ll start posting the runs that comprise the campaign to date.

The concept of the campaign was that the setting was 2075 Eastern Europe (curtain goes up in Kiev, Ukraine).  I asked players to make a slightly-better-than-standard runner (normal build with 30 after-gen Karma and 50,000¥ in additional funds) that would form a mercenary company called “The Fractured”; a mercenary company that operates in 8-man cells globally.  As part of the Eastern EU company the players could choose from this 8-runner pool and maybe choose different characters each time, as the job required.  If a character died, they now had to try and compensate for the gap in the company.  This allowed me to allow the players some flexibility.  Even if the players that attended each session differed, the runners involved could be the same.

I planned 10 “core plot” runs with an undetermined number of additional runs for bankrolling the team, tying off loose ends, etc.

So far, we’ve done 2 of the plot runs (since they happened within 24 hours of each other), at which the players did a hard right and left part of the second run incomplete and have been off on a tangent for one run, going on a second shortly… still leaving business unconcluded and derailing my intended plot arc indefinitely.  They’ve left contacts high and dry, who will eventually leave them hung out to dry if they don’t conclude the business at hand.  Tempted to put the concept to bed and chalk it up to a failed experiment, given that I hinged my plot too greatly on a handful of actions being done.  I really should know better by now…

Convention season is ramping up, so I should have some new material coming soon.  Whether it is the first few runs of “Demons” or the forthcoming convention runs, time will tell.

~ by 1nsomniac on January 5, 2017.

One Response to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Thank you for this repository of ideas, concepts and information. It has been a pleasure reading through them and get excited about implementing them.

Leave a Reply

 
