So… this is 2015…

Just a quick post as a sort of  “state of the union” sort of thing…

2014 was a busy year and despite all the insanity going on, I did try to continue to keep Shadowrun alive in my local group, granted with a lot less frequency than I had done in the past.  My posting rate dropped significantly, but for those that have continued to check in here, I appreciate your loyalty.  I still have three or four more runs from 2014 to post, but I am hoping to find a more regular source of inspiration for this new year and return to a much more regular posting for runs or gaming related material.

If there is something you would like to see more of in this blog (aside from my bread and butter of posting my run material), please let me know.  I’m actually behind in my reading of Fifth Edition material by a considerable amount (I’m nearly finished Street Grimoire and then I have to read Shadow Spells, Aetherology, London Falling and Run Faster).  If it’s something people could be interested in reading, I could post my own reviews of the sourcebooks, but my reading has become horribly infrequent…

Or if there is something you’d like to see more of in the run notes in general… details I typically gloss over, due to power levels in my group often being different from other groups, etc, please let me know.  My goal is to keep my material easily adaptable to other people’s campaigns, but if something standalone is preferable, I am willing to include more detail.

In any case, if you have stuck with me this long, you have my sincere thanks and I hope to make a better go of maintaining this blog this year.  I plan to attend Gen Con in Indianapolis this year and ramp up my presence in the community, so here’s hoping 2015 rekindles my passion for Shadowrun to the raging inferno it once was.

Run fast, conserve ammo and never ever deal with a dragon.  Keep your heads down, chummers.

J.

~ by 1nsomniac on January 2, 2015.

2 Responses to “So… this is 2015…”

  1. Hey so I would email ya if I could find your email but I’ll ask here. I am new….ish to shadowrun like haven’t played in ATLEAST 15 years. I’m gonna get a group going but as it looks right now it will probably only be 2 maybe 3 ppl. What do u recommend for a good starting adventure for sr5 for a group that has never played? I have only bought the beginner box atm and think I will start there and move to alphaware from there to get our feet wet. From there is there any good 5th missions to build us into the game. I read back in biz is good but it is a 4th ed and every one says convert it and well i got no idea how to. So any recomendation would be swell. thnx in advance

    • Hey there, thanks for checking out my blog. If you haven’t played since the days of 2nd/3rd Edition and the others have never played, then the Runner Toolkit and Alphaware is a great place to start. Beyond the box, if you are looking for another published adventure to go through, I would probably recommend Sprawl Wilds as another place to look. It will give you an idea of some of the venues in Seattle (assuming your campaign is rooted there), the adventures range from the easy to veteran and are fairly scalable for your own campaigns.

      Beyind that, you should have an idea as to your player’s skill sets and the types of adventures they enjoy. I might suggest developing stories you know your players will appreciate. After Alphaware and Sprawl Wilds, you’ll have a better idea as a GM as to how much planning you prefer (heavily planned, like the published adventures, or off the cuff as I prefer) and you can tailor your games accordingly.

      Hope that helps.

      J.

Leave a Reply

 
