Review: Dawn of the Artifacts – Midnight

What with work deadlines and the approaching holidays, I didn’t really have a ton of time to develop new material.  After the successful go at the first in the series, I thought I’d give the second book a try.

It was a pleasant surprise to find that the second installment was even more enjoyable than the first.  After reading Feral Cities, I’d been wanting to toss the team into Chicago and this story opens in the ruins of Bug City.  The GMPC that dominated the first adventure is back, but thanks to the story of Midnight, her utility is limited, leaving the runners to do all the work this time around.  Bouncing from Chicago, to Denver to Los Angeles gives GMs the option to use material from Feral Cities, Spy Games and Corporate Enclaves respectively.  If your group isn’t centered in any of these cities, it allows you to explore arcs otherwise untouched.

The challenges were significant in the adventure and the NPCs, again, were of a very high caliber.  Initiate mages, high armor and ample weaponry posed a very real hazard to the players and watching them deal with their level of opposition was entertaining.  The storyline was solid and the game of cat and mouse that predominates the story was quite enjoyable.  There was room to move within the storyline, which was good as my players threw me one curveball after another and I had to overhaul the last third of the story in order to get the players to follow the last leg of the adventure.

Overall, the book was challenging and well done, if a little linear.  The adventure was fun and the resistance they were faced with was some of the steepest I’ve seen in Fourth Edition thus far.  My players are looking forward to my running Darkest Hour and seeing what comes from Artifacts Unbound.

~ by 1nsomniac on December 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Review: Dawn of the Artifacts – Midnight”

  1. Thats a good review. My plan is to review all three (four?) of the Dawn books at once on Gurth’s site, where I have a fwe other reviews. On refectoion, there are many similarities among the stories, and since you have reviewed one singly, I don’t want to compete with you, especially since I haven’t been able to run any of them, players being thin on the ground here!

    –Anders

    • Glad you liked the review. It’s a shame you can’t find players out your way, but I hear that all the time. I must be in a player-rich environment, as I have more players than I can manage.

      I promise that if I’m out in your neck of the woods, I’ll come prepared to run something. 🙂

      Thanks for checking in, Anders. You’ve been reading my stuff for a long while now and I’m always impressed to see you keep returning.

      J.

Leave a Reply

 
